

August 19, 2015

For Immediate Release

ABEX 2015 Finalists Announced

Finalists are the "gold standard" in Saskatchewan business

The curtain has been drawn back for a glimpse at the lineup of finalists for the 2015 ABEX Awards, to be held October 24th at TCU Place in Saskatoon, and the list of names is impressive.

"We are very impressed by the number and calibre of nominations received this year," said Steve McLellan, CEO of the Saskatchewan Chamber of Commerce. "Our 2015 ABEX theme is 'The Glitter of Gold' and I must say – this group of finalists really sets 'the gold standard' for Saskatchewan business."

In total, 89 nominations were submitted to the Sask Chamber, representing businesses of all sizes from across the province. Of those, 59 were chosen across the 10 categories. The Conexus Credit Union is the presenting sponsor of the ABEX Awards.

"The Sask Chamber has implemented a system for the evaluation of nominations which makes it possible for small and large businesses to go head-to-head in a category fairly," McLellan said. "The end result is a group of finalists who are on equal footing going into the judging."

In the Community Involvement Award category sponsored by BHP Billiton, the finalists include Airline Hotels (Saskatoon), Dutchak Holdings Ltd. (North Battleford), Jay's Transportation Group (Regina), KPMG LLP (Regina), P.A.R. Contracting Ltd. (Halbrite), Prince Albert Co-operative Association, Queen City Sports & Entertainment Group/The Regina Pats (Regina), Scotiabank (Saskatoon) and Synergy Credit Union (Lloydminster).

The Export Award finalists are Agrocorp International (Vancouver/Moose Jaw), CanMar Grain Products Ltd. (Regina), and TA Foods Ltd. (Yorkton). This award is sponsored by the Saskatchewan Trade and Export Partnership.

DevFacto Technologies (Regina), Envirotec Services Incorporated (Saskatoon), Innovative Heating & Cooling (Saskatoon), KDB Investments (Regina), McKenna Distribution (Regina), High Octane Welding Ltd/Meadow Lake Welding & Machine (Meadow Lake), Pharmasave 406/Rubicon Pharmacies Canada Inc. (Swift Current) and TA Foods Ltd. (Yorkton) are this year's finalists for the Growth & Expansion Award, sponsored by PFM Capital Inc.

In the Innovation Award category, sponsored by Innovation Saskatchewan, five finalists were selected: 7Shifts (Regina), Bioriginal Food & Science Corp. (Saskatoon), Envirotec Services Incorporated (Saskatoon), QuickLinkt Solutions Inc. (Saskatoon), and TA Foods Ltd. (Yorkton).

Minard's Leisure World Ltd. of Weyburn and Humboldt's Spotlight Sport & Corporate Wear Ltd. will vie for the ABEX in the category of Marketing, sponsored by Handy Special Events.

There were eight finalists in the New Venture Award category, sponsored by the Saskatchewan Ministry of the Economy: Black Bridge Brewery (Swift Current), Canadian Organic Spice & Herb Co. (Watson), PowerChief Scaffolding Inc. (Punnichy), QuickLinkt Solutions Inc. (Saskatoon), Rockford Engineering Works Ltd. (Regina), Saskatoon Institute for Medical Simulation (Saskatoon), W Bridals - Curvy Couture (Saskatoon) and Wood's Body Goods (Aberdeen).

The Service Award category, sponsored by Canalta Hotels, has a full slate of finalists, including Airline Hotels (Saskatoon), Alliance Wellness and Rehabilitation (Moose Jaw), Grant Hall (Moose Jaw), Harold's Family Foods (Prince Albert), KDB Investments (Regina), N.L. Construction Inc. (Yorkton), North Ridge Development Corporation (Saskatoon), Prairie Harley-Davidson (Regina) and Siemens Transportation Group Inc. (Saskatoon).

In the Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award category, sponsored by Cameco, the finalists are: Scott Faulkner - Innovative Heating & Cooling (Saskatoon), Steve McKenna - McKenna Distribution, Luxury Granite and R&M Flooring (Regina), Kent East - High Octane Welding Ltd. & Meadow Lake Welding & Machine (Meadow Lake), Cole Thorpe - Prairie Proud Apparel Corp. (Saskatoon), Jill Morrison - Red Bicycle Communications (Lloydminster), Ryan Yedersberger - Stealth Interactive Media (Saskatoon) and Adam Tremblay - Tremblay Electric (Humboldt).

The newest award category, Priority Focus is sponsored by SIGA. This award is presented to a business which has gone above and beyond in demonstration of business excellence, in an area that mirrors a select Sask Chamber policy priority; this year, the focus is on Youth Entrepreneurship. This category has three finalists, all hailing from Saskatoon: Display Systems International Inc., K+S Potash Canada GP and North Ridge Development Corporation.

There are five finalists in the Community Cornerstone Award category, sponsored by SaskEnergy: Bushwakker Brewing Company Ltd. (Regina), Econo Timber Mart (Prince Albert), Hopkins Dining Parlour (Moose Jaw), Midwest Furniture & Appliances (Lloydminster) and Saskatoon Funeral Homes (Saskatoon).

Voting for the new Community Cornerstone Award will commence September 24 at www.abexcornerstone.com. Voting for this award will take place up to and including the ABEX evening, October 24. Visitors to the website may register to vote daily during the voting period; votes will be tallied and the winner announced during the ABEX ceremonies.

Tickets are available online at www.saskchamber.com now.

-30-

For further information, contact:

Steve McLellan, CEO Saskatchewan Chamber of Commerce

Cell: 306.533.7686

Email: smclellan@saskchamber.com

Dawn M. Barker, Director of Communications Saskatchewan Chamber of Commerce

Ph: 306.352.2671

Email: dmbarker@saskchamber.com